BuzzRamp Digital Marketing Glossary

BuzzRamp Digital Marketing Glossary

There is a LOT of jargon that in Digital Marketing. It can be so confusing, so many acronyms and technical terms that you will eventually need to know. 

With that in mind we've created a glossary to help you understand some of it. 

Google Products

Google, in a way run the world, can you imagine if it went down?

Page Rank 

Part of the algorithm that’s responsible for Google's search engine. Rumoured to be named after Larry Page the Google co founder, not web pages. You got lucky, Larry. 

Google Analytics 

A free software that allows any user to track the following: 

• The amount of people who visit your website. 

• The amount of time people spend on your website

• Where those people are from. 

• Which devices they are using to access your website. 

• Which pages they visit. 

Google Ad Words

Google's advertising service. Businesses can buy adverts on Google's search engine results pages. They only pay Google if someone clicks on the advert. Businesses use relevant keywords and follow Google guidelines so that their ad is shown when they want it to. 

For example, if Nike want to buy ads on Google Ad Words they will use keywords such as:

• Football boots

• Tennis kit

• Running shoes

So when someone searches for these terms in Google they will see Nike's adverts and hopefully for Nike click on them and buy their products. 

Quality Score 

The rating system of Google Ad Words that discerns how relevant your ad is to the audience that it’s being shown to. The better your Quality Score of your Ad Words Ads the higher your ad is likely to rank, also a high Quality score can reduce the cost of the ad. 


An automated piece of software that scans websites. This is how Google figures out how good...or bad each website is. Also known as a "crawler" or "spider" because it "crawls" websites when analysing them. 

Google Search Console 

A tool that allows you to see how your website is performing in Google's search results. Previously known as Google Webmasters’ Tools. 

Google Ad Sense 

Google's platform that allows website administrators and content creators to earn money by showing Google adverts on their websites or channels. For example if you have a YouTube channel with over 10,000 views you can begin to earn ad revenue from it. 


Landing Page

The webpage or destination that a user arrives at after clicking a link. Most web pages are designed to encourage users to take a specific action e.g. buy something, enter your email, attend an event etc. 


An acronym standing for ‘Content Management System’. This is a piece of software that is used to build and design websites. The world's most popular CMS is WordPress with over 70 million websites globally. CMS's make it easier for those who don’t know how to code to be able to build a website from scratch. Other examples of a CMS are Wix and Squarespace.  


The different computer languages that are used to build websites and apps. The most common ones are:

• HTML - Stands for Hypertext Markup Language.  

• Javascript

• CSS - Cascading Style Sheets

• PHP - Hypertext Proprocessor


A computer file (an XML file if you really want to know) that lists all the pages on a website so that the search engines can see it more easily. The sitemap helps search engines to figure out what sort of website your site is. 


This is the basic drawing of the layout of a website. Usually done at the beginning of the design process. 


An acronym standing for Uniform Resource Locator. A URL is the address of the webpage. Buzzramp's URL is 


Stands for User Experience. This is the science/art of improving how easy it is for a user to interact with a website or app. 


Stands for User Interface. This is the area through which a user interacts with something via a digital device. 


An online (or ‘web’) seminar that an audience can stream live or recorded onto their computer, often used by marketers to give away a certain amount of knowledge for free and then sell a relevant product at the end.


Hypertext Transfer Protocol/Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure. In this context a protocol is used to transfer data from a web server to to your web browser so that you can watch Netflix, buy stuff on Amazon or find out what’s happening to your friends on Instagram. 

HTTP isn’t encrypted, which means it’s more vulnerable to Black Hat hackers who can sneak in and watch you or steal your information. HTTPS is the more secure version, the “S” stands for “secure” HTTPS has a SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate which protects you and your data from black hat hackers. 

How can you tell the difference? There will be a padlock on the left hand corner of your address bar on your web browser. Most major websites have HTTPS. 

We strongly advise that you do not give out any sensitive information to a website that doesn’t have a HTTPS padlock. For example if you are on an e commerce website or a banking website do not give your credit or debit card details. 


A collection of websites that have a commonality e.g. Yellow Pages.  These are maintained and organised by people instead of algorithms. 


A graphical diagram that tells you which parts of your web pages visitors are clicking and viewing the most. You can use heat maps to make improvements to your website. We recommend Hotjar as a tool for applying heatmap technology to your website. 

H tags 

They can also be described as "header tags" they represent the different types of headers in HTML format. The biggest is H1 (often used for the titles of pages and blog posts) The smallest is H6. For SEO benefits and to make it easier for readers to figure out what your content is these headers should always be used. 

IP Address 

An acronym standing for Internet Protocol Address. It is an unique number sequence that identifies a device when it connects to the internet. It can be used to locate and differentiate a device amongst others. You can find out your own IP address by typing into Google "what is my IP address?" 

Broken Link 

A hyperlink that points to a web page that no longer exists. Websites are closed or reconfigured all the time, meaning websites that have links to those defunct sites will still have the links on their sites, but they won’t lead anywhere if clicked on.  When you click on a link and see an "Error 404" message on the screen this is an example of a broken link. 

Back Link

A link to one website from another. For example, a popular news website like the BBC will have millions of backlinks from other websites referencing their articles. The basis of Google's algorithm is to use back links like a vote. The more reputable back links (or ‘votes’) a site has, the higher in the search results it will be shown. 


Stands for Extensible Markup Language, used mainly in sitemaps. A similar type of code to HTML. 

Tracking Code 

A piece of code that is placed on a website to find out information about the visitors. For example Google Analytics uses tracking codes to find out information about a site’s visitors, which they then turn into useful data for the site’s owners. 


This is both a noun and a verb. Index is the action of Google's bot crawling website to store relevant Google search queries. Also it's Google's extensive library of websites which have already been crawled and are now available to be shown in relevant search results. 

Search Engines


The process of improving a website's performance and position in organic search engine results. This can be done through:

• Link Acquisition / Link Building 

• Content production/improvement

• Code improvement 

Link building 

The process of getting links from other websites to your own. If these websites are high quality it will help your SEO and increase your online visibility.


A search engine that has between 5-10% share of the global search market. Contrary to common belief Google isn't the only search engine on the planet. Google it ;). 


Stands for Search Engine Marketing. This describes any marketing tactics that are designed to help improve a site’s rankings in search engines (like Google)


A word (or phrase) that when typed into a search engine generates information related to that word. Ideally you want your website to show up in Google's search results for as many relevant keywords as possible. 


Similar to a keyword but instead of a word it's phrases or a group of words. 

Keyword stuffing 

When a webpage uses a particular keyword in an unnatural way in order to try to gain an advantage in the search rankings. For example, if the keyword was ‘sports’ a keyword stuffed web page might include a sentence like “London Sports is a sports company, that loves sports, lives sports and is engrossed in sports. We are embedded in the sports world." Eurgh, horrible isn't? Apart from the horrible, clunky writing Google will penalise you, heavily. This is one way to make yourself invisible on Google. Which is not a good place to be. At all. 


A term used for where a website appears in search results. A website's ranking can go up or down due to a wide variety of factors. 


Stands for Search Engine Results Page. A page that lists all the results after a user submits a web search request. 


Stands for Pay per Click. This is when a search engine (e.g. Google) charge advertisers (e.g. Adidas) for adverts that are placed alongside relevant search engine results. 

LongTail Keyword

A keyword that is longer and matches more specific search queries. E.g. “red wine” is a keyword, but “red wine that goes well with french blue cheese” is a longtail keyword. These keywords get less overall searches but have a higher intent. This means that people who use these search terms are more likely to click on the results. Also, they are less competitive to rank for. 


What you type into a search engine. For example, "London men’s tailors" or "Why won't this fox leave me alone?"

Social Media


A person who is highly skilled in a particular field and has a large and engaged following. An example of a powerful powerful influencer is Kylie Jenner. 


A piece of content e.g. a video that spreads from person to person rapidly. For example the Gangam style video ‘went viral’.


This is a form of "going viral". When a large number of people are mentioning you or your business at the same time over a short period of time on Twitter or Facebook. For example, if your coffee business made coffee that was 10x stronger, healthier and better tasting than its rivals and it got featured by a major news outlet, you will likely trend on Twitter over the course of a day or two. 

Engagement Rate 

This is the rate of which followers interact with a social media profile. This is arguably a more important metric than the number of followers you have. For example if you have 200,000 followers on Twitter and have an engagement rate of 1% that means on average 2,000 people interact with each of your Tweets - which is a good percentage. (Most profiles have a less than 1% engagement rate) 

But another business can 210,000 followers but has an engagement rate of 0.1% which equates to 210 people interact with each Tweet.So you’re 10,000 followers down but have far more people actually interacting with you. 


The "#" symbol used on Social Media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter. The # followed by a phrase without spaces (e.g. #londonlife or #foodporn) are used to categorise relevant content. Instagram and Twitter allow users to search for hashtags which will bring up content that contains those hashtags. 



A blog in a video format. (a combination of the words "video and blog")


Any type of media that can be consumed by:

• Reading

• Watching

• Listening

Examples of content include blog posts, YouTube videos, Podcasts etc.  


A piece of audio or video content originally intended for download onto mobile devices such as an iPod (hence ‘pod-cast’). They are distributed to their listeners through various online platforms such as:

• iTunes

• Soundcloud 

• YouTube

These can also be downloaded for offline consumption. 


Stands for User Generated Content. Any content created by users (not companies). For example if your company posts a video on YouTube and it attracts 500 comments, each one of those comments is classed as UGC. 



The number of times an advert is shown to a group of people on the Internet. This can be on a website or app.  It's also known as Cost Per Thousand (M is the Roman numeral for 1000) If a website or app has a CPM cost of £20 that means that for every 1000 times an app is shown you will pay them £20. So if you want to get 10000 impressions you'd have to pay £200. 


Stands for Click Through Rate. The rate of which users click on an advertisement or a search result. For example, if an advert had 2000 impressions and 200 people click on the ad the CTR is 10%. 

Organic traffic 

Any source of traffic that is not obtained through paid advertising. For example, if you write a good blog post that brings in 2000 visitors you've brought in organic traffic. Traffic gained through Google Ad Words would not count as organic traffic as you've paid for it. 

Bounce Rate 

When a person visits your website and immediately leaves without clicking on anything. This is described as "bouncing" off a website. 

Conversion rate 

The rate at which users do a preferred task once they arrive on a website. For example, imagine if a website's goal is to get people to sign up to a subscription service. If in 24 hours 10000 people visit the site and 1000 people sign up the conversion rate is 10%. 


Cost per Acquisition or Customer Acquisition Cost. This is the formula that shows you how much it costs to acquire each new customer.For example, if you spent £1000 on marketing in a year and acquired 1000 new customers your CPA/CAC is £1- which is amazing!. 

Unique Visitors

The web analytic that measures different, unique people that visit a website over a period of time. 


Stands for Return on Ad Spend. Similar to CPA/CAC.  A marketing metric that calculates how efficient your advertising spending has been. For example, if you spend £1000 on marketing and you make £2000 profit than your ROAS is 100%.

Coach Buzz says:

Pete Walter - The founder of BuzzRamp, he's a lovely guy who is highly skilled with a camera. 


Open Source 

This is when the code for a piece software is made freely available to anyone to make improvements and update. For example the web browser Mozilla Firefox is open source. The software Android from Google is another example. 


A historical list of an online conversation, for example comments on a blog post or video. It also refers to a series of messages on twitter from one individual, allowing them to post a longer message than one 280 character tweet permits.   


A web page or part of a web page or app that displays top line information about the ways you are using that website or app. Dashboards pull in information from a variety of sources. 

Duplicate Content 

When two pieces of content appear on the web in two different places. 

Geo Targeting 

The method of targeting customers by using their location. 

Banner Ad 

This is a static or animated image that sits on different areas of a website advertising a particular product or service. 

A/B testing

The practice of splitting an audience that want to view the same content into two (audience ‘A’ and audience ‘B’) and then showing them slightly different version of that content, in order to see which version is more effective. 


The practice of attempting to fund a new product, service or social cause by getting many people (the ‘crowd’) to each pledge relatively small amounts of money (‘funding’). An example of a crowdfunding website is Kickstarter. 

Black Hat 

A term for rule breaking online practices. 

Examples include:

• Black Hat SEO – e.g. keyword stuffing, link farms, duplicate content etc. 

• Black Hat hacking – Hacking to steal items or information from someone illegally. 

White Hat 

The term for rule following or “ethical online practices. 

These include: 

• White Hat/Ethical hacking – This is hacking with permission. Some companies hire ethical hackers to test their security software. 

• White Hat SEO – Link Building, H tags, High quality content, sitemap etc. E - commerce - Stands for electronic commerce. This is used to describe businesses that carry out their business online most notably Amazon.  Avatar -  An image that represents a person on an online platform. 


A set of instructions that computers follow to complete a task. 

Call to Action/CTA 

An image or piece of text that encourages you to do something. For example, at the end of this blog post we have a link to insert your email to receive a PDF document to help your marketing activities. 

Lead Magnet 

A piece of content, product or service offer that encourages people to give you permission to contact them. Our lead magnet is our "5 Quick Marketing Wins" PDF. Think of it as a value exchange, the permission to contact potential customers is valuable to us and our PDF is of value to our potential customers. 


This word has more than one meaning depending on the context. In social media this is when you attach someone else's profile name to a post or tweet. On YouTube this is when you add subject tags that help the video to be discovered when people type in relevant keywords or phrases into YouTube's search bar. Website's that have blog posts add tags to help categorise different posts and to help them be found by those searching for similar keywords or phrases. 


Nope, not the American version of digestives. This is a small piece of code that is partially used to "follow" users around the Internet. If you click on an ad for shoes, and then visit another website but still see the ad for the same shoes, congratulations, you have cookies on your web browser. Clearing your browser history data should get rid of all cookies. 

Inbound Marketing 

Sometimes shortened to just ‘inbound’. This describes the tactics and strategies that attract customers to a particular website.  SEO and effective Social Media activity are examples of inbound marketing. 

Digital Marketing 

This is a term which has many definitions, depending on who you ask and what you read. But we feel that Dave Chaffey sums it up beautifully in his book Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice. 

Digital marketing is: “Achieving marketing objectives through applying digital technologies and media”. 



Stands for Voice Over Internet Protocol. This is the technology that allows you to make calls over the internet. The most widely used VOIP brand is Skype. Another brand is Viber. 

Want 5 tips that can quickly:

• Increase traffic to your website?

• Improve your social media profiles?

• Help you communicate better with your customers? 

• Create content that converts?

We hope that this makes your marketing journey easier.

Until next time.

Asher & the BuzzRamp team.